The Idiom Podcast at AWP!

Idiom Podcast #5 at AWP

“If they’re doing something aesthetically with the cover, they must be doing something aesthetically with the work”  a quote from Bobby Fischer as we discuss how to choose what to buy at AWP….

I recorded this podcast at AWP a writer’s convention up in Boston.  With me are three guys who have graduated from the MFA creative writing program at William Paterson University.  Their names are linked to their twitter  or facebook accounts,

Tim O’Donnell   Bobby Fischer    and Charlie Ricardelli

We talked about some of the people we met and magazines or books we bought and enjoyed and I tried to find links to all of their sites listed below….the podcast does cut short at the end while reading A Ring of Muscle because I tried shaking my ipad as it was saving for some reason….

Prime Magazine    -the interactive online magazine that works really well on your tablets

the Bill Murray T-shirt that Charlie wore (couldn’t find the exact one but hers a bunch)

Don Dellillo

Matthew Dickman

Tin House Magazine   Matthew Dickman is the poetry editor

Amber Sparks 

Balloon Pop Outlaw Black     I looked up the author….she is really cute

Toad Suck Reivew

Unstuck Magazine

Intentional Walk Review   the online magazine of sports writing that advertised on stress baseballs

Bull Magazine  a magazine of men’s fiction

Hobart Press     the press that gave us whisky

Hoot Review a magazine that sends you lil postcards

Punk Hostage Press    the press that imitates book covers for their books

Openletter press     the press that has great translations

Calamari Press

Idiot’s Books   I also found this press that I didn’t mention on the podcast but I bought their book for my girlfriend and now she reallllllly likes me

40 on Berkely   the hostile I stayed at

Leave a Reply

